How to Make Ice Cream Cone Oreo Cake Pops

How adorable are these little guys! When I first saw these (I don’t even remember where, probably on a baking blog of some sort) I knew I had to try them. I had also been meaning to try the no-bake Oreo cake pops recipe for ages so I decided to join the two baking adventures together and make Ice Cream Cone Oreo Cake Pops 🙂

These were relatively simple to make, if a tiny bit fiddly. Once I had ruined one lot of Candy Melts by overheating them, and burned my hand once with the next lot of molten Candy Melts (BIG ouch), I think I got the hang of it pretty quickly 🙂

So here we go, the method of how to make them (minus the stuff ups!). You will need these things:

And just a couple of other things:

– sprinkles

– Copha

– food processor

– sharp serrated knife

First of all I got the waffle cones ready by cutting them to the right height for my lolly pop sticks, and also cutting the bottoms off to allow the stick to go through.

To cut them to the right height take your serrated knife and gently score the line that you want to cut like this:

You can see I’ve scored a very faint line all the way round the cone.

Once I had scored all the way round, I went round with the knife again, this time pressing a little bit harder. If you continue doing this, eventually the top of the cone will snap off like this:

My first one didn’t snap off quite as nicely by the way! But by the second one I was a pro 😉

I then cut off a little bit at the bottom until the hole was big enough to push the lolly pop stick through. I found that each of my cones was a little bit different so I’d suggest starting off with cutting just a tiny bit off and then cutting more if required.

You want the hole to just be big enough to fit around the lolly pop stick snugly – though it doesn’t matter too much if it’s a little loose.

Once you’ve you all your waffle cones ready (you’ll need six if you’re using two packets of Oreos like I did) put them aside and grab the Oreos and your food processor. It’s time for the fun part 🙂

Use the food processor to crush the Oreos until they look like this:

Next add about 90 grams of cream cheese and use your hands to mix well… (I told you this bit was fun)

Until it forms a smooth ‘dough’ and you can roll it into a big ball.

Now form into six even sized balls – I actually used my ice cream scoop to do this and then evened out the ball shapes using my hands.

I refrigerated these for a little bit, while I melted a few of the candy melts, then dipped the ends of the lolly pop sticks into the candy melts and pushed them into the centre of the cake balls. They look quite cute don’t they 🙂

Pop these back in the fridge for at least 15 minutes (so that the candy melts can set), meanwhile melt down about three-quarters of the candy melts packet with about 10-15 grams of Copha (the Copha helps to make the candy melts a bit more runny for ease of dipping the cake pops later).

Now here is an important tip: DO NOT overheat the candy melts!! They will become really gluggy and you won’t be able to use them AND you might burn yourself like I did!! Heat them up on a low heat and as soon as they’re all melted, take them off. Alternatively you can heat them up on a low setting in the microwave in 20 second bursts until they’re all melted.

For photos of what the melted candy melts should look like, check out my first ever Cake Pops post 🙂

Now comes the slightly tricky part.

Place all of your prepared waffle cones over the cake pops like this:

Now pour your melted candy melts into a deep bowl – I actually like to use my glass measuring cup, it works really well for this.

Lift the waffle cone of one of the cake pops so that it’s tip is really close to the end of the lolly pop stick, then holding the top of the stick and the waffle cone to prevent it from slipping back down dip the cake ball into the candy melt. So the idea here is to dip the cake ball but not the waffle cone. This might sound a bit confusing and I was only able to get one photo of this process (it’s rather difficult trying to take a photo left-handed while also trying to dip a cake pop!) but hopefully it will aid in explaining what I am unable to do very well in words!

Now you may be wondering why I didn’t just dip the cake pop in first and then slide the waffle cone on after? Well that might sound simpler, but take it from me, it’s totally not! In fact that was how I burned my hand the first time I tried it – I dipped the cake pop in, turned it the right way up and while I as trying to figure out exactly how to manoeuvre the waffle cone onto the stick the melted chocolate started to drip off the cake pop and right onto my hand. NOT fun. This is also why I ended up with five completed cake pops instead of six 😉

Anyway where was I?

So you’ve dipped the cake pop in and now all you have to do is slide the waffle cone back down to meet the covered cake pop. The melted chocolate will make the waffle cone stick to the cake ball. If you have a styrofoam block handy you can now stick the bottom of the stick into it as far as it will go to help the waffle cone stay in place and not slide down. If you don’t have a styrofoam block you might have to hold it in your hand for a little while and keep the waffle cone in place until the chocolate has set a little bit. It is much easier to just grab some styrofoam out of the box your iPod Dock came in (that’s what I did!).

Oh I almost forgot the most important bit! The SPRINKLES – no ice cream cone would be complete without them.

And now you should have something that looks like this:

Don’t worry if some of the melted chocolate slides down the cone before it’s set – it just makes it look a little more realistic!

If you enjoyed this post you can check out my previous Cake Pop adventures here and here 🙂

3 thoughts on “How to Make Ice Cream Cone Oreo Cake Pops

  1. These are SO adorable!! You make the best things. Thanks for all the tips on the best technique on how to make these–I will definitely use your tips when I try making them (because they are now on my short list!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

