How to Make a Fondant Peony Rose

Today I had a go at learning how to make a peony rose with fondant. The inspiration once again came from Lindy Smith’s book, The Contemporary Cake Decorating Bible.

To recreate this gorgeous flower you will need:

  • Fondant in the colour of your choice
  • A large rose cutter (I used a JEM 90cm rose cutter)
  • A frilling, or ball tool (I used a frilling tool)
  • A veining tool
  • A flower forming cup
  • Sugar flower glue (optional, I didn’t end up using it because the fondant was sticky enough)

First roll out the fondant quite thin and cut out two flowers with your cutter. Cover the rest of the fondant with cling wrap so it doesn’t dry out. Cut small ‘V’ shapes into the petals as I have done in the picture below. This step is optional – I did it because it was in Lindy’s instructions, but in my opinion it’s probably not necessary. Anyway, it’s up to you.

Next use the veining tool to create some creases in the petals.

Use a frilling tool (or ball tool, but I like using the frilling tool) to soften the edges of the petals. Just roll the tool over the edges of the petals to thin them out and give them some movement. Unfortunately I don’t have a photo of how to do this because I needed two hands to hold the tool! But this is the finished product.

You may need to let the fondant dry a little at this stage, depending on how warm it is in your kitchen. It’s a very warm day here today so I had to wait a little while. Don’t let it dry out completely, just enough so that it doesn’t stretch and deform when you try it pick the petals up.

Now pick up the first set of petals and place it in the forming cup, then place the second set on top arranging it so that the petals are in between the petals below. Insert small bits of scrunched up paper towel between the petals to separate them, and leave to dry.

While the first two sets of petals are drying, cut out another five flowers. Use the veining tool and frilling tool to add creases and shape the petals as before. It doesn’t really matter if you use the veining tool first and then frill the edges or the other way round. I tried both ways and got pretty much the same effect. I think in the end I preferred frilling, then veining.

The next step is to roll the sides of each petal into the middle, to create the inner petals of the peony. The next picture shows what I mean. Once all five sets of petals were done, I again had to wait for them to dry a little bit so that they didn’t deform easily.

Next fold each petal up into the middle. If your fondant is a bit soft, you may have to hold all five up with your fingers, like I did.

Holding the flower at the base of the petals place it in the centre of the previous two sets of petals (in the forming cup). You may need to use the sugar glue to stick them on, but you may find that the fondant is still sticky enough, like I did. Again, use bits of paper towel to separate the petals.

Repeat this with the remaining four sets of petals, placing them so that they form a full flower. Use your fingers or the other end of the veining tool to open up the petals a little. The great thing about this type of rose is that it really doesn’t have to be perfect. In fact, I think it will look more realistic if it’s less perfect.

When all the fondant is dry, take out all the bits of paper towel (this may take several hours). Your beautiful peony rose is ready!

I was really quite happy with how my first attempt turned out, although there is of course room for improvement. I was a bit impatient because I was so excited to see how my rose was going to turn out and I didn’t let the fondant dry out enough. Also I think I can do better with the placement of the inner petals next time. But I’m still really quite proud :)

3 thoughts on “How to Make a Fondant Peony Rose

  1. Pingback: Wedding Cake – For My Own Wedding | Confessions of a Cake Addict

  2. Pingback: My Wedding Cake | Confessions of a Cake Addict

Leave a Reply

